THROAT CHAKRA: (DON’T OVER)EXPRESS YO’SELF

Lapis Lazuli- 5th Chakra gemstone

I’ve been at war with this chakra for most of my life. It has certainly served me well in many ways, as most of you are probably familiar with me because of my voice/music. When I am in alignment, my “gift of gab” has talked me into some incredible opportunities, and talked me out of some crazy situations as well. I know I overuse it often, which creates imbalance. The imbalance results in sore throats, loss of voice, fear of speaking up/out, oversharing/overtalking, “putting my foot in my mouth”, being misinterpreted and misunderstood and other unpleasantries. See, when you “talk a lot”, it’s almost always assumed you are also a good communicator; this is just not true.  Recently I have been experimenting with silence, talk fasting, expressing myself in fewer words, finding other non-verbal ways to communicate etc. and that has been challenging because I’ve always been “outspoken”. To not “talk” seems almost impossible to achieve at times. One of my strengths has always been my voice. It’s also always been one of my weaknesses when misused. Whatever I need to say or not say has been hard on my throat chakra. It got me to thinking, what would I do if I had no voice? I shudder to think, so that is more than enough motivation to get to the root of this recent intense battle I’ve been having with ye olde voice box. Doing the knowledge to the science of chakras, they are all interconnected and if any of them are out of balance, the others will be too. I am determined to conquer this, I must. My voice is needed.

Throat Chakra

Name: Throat Chakra 
Colour:
 Blue

The Throat Chakra is associated with your Self Expression and Communication.

When it is in balance, you are able to listen and communicate well. When you are having trouble expressing yourself, or having trouble with communication (being unable to say what you want to say to others and/or not truly listening to what you are being told) the throat chakra becomes imbalanced.

An imbalance will first resonate as a tingle, ache or sensitivity in the throat region. (Stemming from the base of the neck to the ears).

Aches and Pains

Even small tingles and aches can be a sign that something needs to be addressed. As soon as the emotional issue has been resolved, the ache WILL clear up or simply completely vanish.

Can manifest quickly as an unexpected cough, or manifest as feeling like a lump is in your throat (feeling choked up) and/or trouble when swallowing.

Aches, tingles and pain located around the Throat, Mouth and Neck. Including toothache, sore tongue, sensitive gums, tonsils, sore throats and tickly coughs.

Physical/ Medical issues

Sore throats, loss of voice, coughs, mouth ulcers and ear infections.

If the issue is left unattended to, may lead on to more serious issues such as.

  • Thyroid problems – over active/ under-active;
  • Anorexia nervosa
  • asthma
  • bronchitis
  • hearing problems, tinnitus
  • problems of the upper digestive tract,
  • mouth ulcers, sore throats, tonsillitis.

Emotional Issues

When in balance the throat chakra offers us; faithfulness, an ability to express yourself and your ideas, good communication skills, will power and honesty.

Imbalances are caused by being unfaithful (to either yourself or to others), A feeling of not being heard, or not being able to express your ideas/who you are. Feeling afraid to talk about things, lack of honesty (to yourself and/or others), Lack of willpower and lying.

It only takes one of these emotional conditions to form an imbalance, the intensity of which will be in direct relation. As you become more aware of yourself and the link between your emotional and physical aspects of you, your body responds more quickly to even the slightest emotional imbalance.

Colour Therapy

Blue is the colour associated to the Sacral Chakra.

Crystal Therapy.

Crystals which can be used in association with the Throat Chakra are;

  • Lapis Lazuli
  • Blue Quartz
  • Turquoise
  • Lazulite

Aromatherapy

Oils and Incense which can be used, associated with the throat chakra are

  • Frankincense
  • Camomile
  • Sandalwood.

Nutrition

Water, Lemons & Limes (and some other Citrus Fruits), Apples and Peaches can help you to cleanse, clear and open up your throat chakra.

More info here

Leave a Reply

